The recipients of the SKAL Tourism Personality Awards


TOURISM HEROES From left: Cynthia Carrion, Jaime Bautista, Sec. Roy Cimatu, and AA Patawaran

The 29th SKAL Tourism Personality Awards Night in connection with their 38th Founding Anniversary celebration is happening on Thursday, Aug. 22 at 6 p.m. at the New World Hotel Makati.

This was announced by SKAL International Makati chair Robert Lim Joseph. He said, “This year, we selected 16 awardees from the government and private sectors including the entertainment industry.”

They are Cynthia Carrion, Corregidor Foundation, Inc (CFI) chair/ CEO and former Tourism Usec. for Historical Tourism Dev’t. Award category; Jaime Bautista for SKAL Leadership in Tourism and Transportation Award category; Miguel Belmonte, Philippine Star 2012, 2015, and 2016 for SKAL Star Legacy Award category; Emmanuel Gonzalez, Plantation Bay Resort and Spa, for Food Tourism Award category; DENR Sec. Roy Cimatu for Eco Tourism Award category; DILG Sec. Eduardo Año for Eco Tourism Award category; Tourism Sec. Bernadette Romulo-Puyat for Eco Tourism Award; Suzie Moya Benitez, Bayanihan for Heritage and Cultural Tourism Award category; Pampanga Vice Gov. Lilia G. Pineda for Domestic Tourism Dev’t Award category; AA Patawaran, The Manila Bulletin Lifestyle editor for Print Media Category; Patrick Lawrence Tan, CEO of Globallink MP Events International Inc. for Exhibition Tourism Award category; Elizabeth “Betty” Sy, president and chairman of SM Hotels and Convention for Hotel Awards category; Dina May Flores, Philippine Airlines for Airline category; Michelle Tiotangco, Kamia Bay for Resort category; Rafael Dionisio, MAD Travel for Cultural and Ecological Adventure Tourism Award category; and Eat Bulaga’s Ms. Millennial Philippines for TV Program Segment Award category.

According to Joseph, “SKAL is a professional organization of tourism leaders around the world, promoting global tourism and friendship. SKAL International has over 15,000 members in 356 clubs in 85 countries. Their General Secretariat is located in Torremolinos, Spain.”

Major sponsors are Philippine Airlines (PAL), Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation (PAGCOR), New World Hotel Makati, and Ralph’s Wines and Spirits.

Tags: ,